A long wait for “The Long Way Home”

I’ve said before that Louise Penny’s Inspector Gamache detective series is fracking brilliant. “The Long Way Home” came out a few months ago and I’ve been saving it for a time I could savour the reading. That time is now.

Expecting too much can sometimes colour one’s first impressions of what is really good art. I hope I can read this with eyes that aren’t too hungry and just enjoy the meal.

Here are some comments as I go along….

… any other writer using a metaphor of using a moth battering itself to death against a light source would make Gamache’s inevitable return to unofficial police work seem trite and cliche. Penny’s use of language and timing made it profound.

Leave a Reply

