Today we are all Ukrainian

Growing up, I thought of myself as a hyphenated Ukrainian; you know someone whose grandparents were born there and immigrated overseas to make new lives.

Later, as I grew up and started getting experience of actually living overseas and being immersed in different cultures, I realized I was about as Ukrainian as a perogie made out Manitoba durham wheat and Taber potatoes. There wasn’t much Ukrainian content in me at all, other than the foods I grew up wth, my surname, and a few of the more interesting words.

Today, watching the horrible events going on throughout the Ukraine, I am once again Ukrainian, but this time in the sense Kennedy was when he called himself a Berliner.

I hope you are, too.

May peace soon settle upon that troubled land.

2 comments on “Today we are all Ukrainian

  1. tamigilford says:

    bless you… God bless the people of Ukraine and send them peace!

Leave a Reply

