More hockey

As a kid, my favourite hockey player was Serge Savard. That lasted many years until a new team was born in Edmonton and I thrilled to watching the fearlessness and speed of Glenn Anderson. When Glenn was done, Mike Ricci’s grit caught my eye.

Since then, I’ve had trouble finding and sticking with a favourite player, perhaps because of the “new economics” of the league and the mercenary nature of playing for one team. If I had to pick a favourite today, I’d say it’s Pavel Datsyuk, who combines hard work, skill, defensive acumen and low maintenance all in one normal-sized physique.

How about you? Who do you currently like?

Leave a Reply

